top of page


Japanese car makers list:

Toyota, Honda, Daihatsu, Nissan, Suzuki, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Isuzu, Hino, Kawasaki, and Mitsuoka.

Car model- A car's make is the brand of the vehicle, while the model refers to the name of a car product and sometimes a range of products. For example, MAZDA is a car make and DEMIO is a car model. Knowing the model of the car, we can understand the shape of the car, from what period to what period the car was produced and who is the manufacturer.

Chassis number- is an exclusive car identification number allotted to your car by the manufacturer. For European and American manufacturers, it is called the VIN (vehicle identification number) code.

· The first half: the part decided by the country The first half is designated by the Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism in accordance with the Japanese law called the Road Transport Vehicle Act, which is related to vehicles. It is a classification index given to vehicles with the same performance, structure, and equipment, etc., and has an identification symbol that complies with emission constraints.

· The latter half: the part decided by the manufacturer The latter half is decided by the manufacturer, the displayed contents are different. In most cases, it is difficult to understand if you do not have much knowledge.

The first part of the chassis number is emissions code. Vehicles with three letters at the beginning of the chassis number are newer vehicles. As an example, the following information is listed:

1. ABA Compliance with 2005 regulations

2. AAA Hybrid car that complies with 2005 regulations

3. CBA 50% reduction level of 2005 standard exhaust gas

4. DBA 75% reduction level of 2005 standard exhaust gas

5. CAA 50% reduction level of Hybrid car with 2005 standard exhaust gas

6. DAA 75% reduction level of Hybrid car with 2005 standard exhaust gas


The first digit is the emission regulation year and low-emission certification. The second digit is to find out the fuel classification whether it is a hybrid or other fuel classification. The identification number is determined in the third digit according to the purpose and weight conditions.

For example, A in the first digit indicates “no low-emission certification under the 2005 regulations”. A in the second digit suggests “gasoline or LPG but both have to be a hybrid car,” and A in the third digit indicates “passenger car, other than diesel regulated in 2005.”

In this way, the letters from A to Z (some of which are not used) have their respective meanings and are used as identification symbols.

The second part of the chassis number after the dash explains to us the type of engine, fuel, drive, from this part we can also understand what model it is and, accordingly, who the manufacturer is.

From the part of the chassis number without the environmental code, we can determine the manufacture year of the car.

The third part of the chassis number is decided by the car manufacturer. This is an identification code (numbers) specific to this particular car.


bottom of page